fashionably late…birthday wishes

This past weekend I took a quick trip to the San Francisco Bay area for my “baby” nephews birthday.  Rex is his name and that cute ball of energy and light turned 3 years old.  It is amazing how a little being is reason enough to gather family from all over the states even if it’s just for a weekend.  I knew I wanted to wear something super special for my nephews big day and I needed something that was appropriate for a “kid party.”  Things to keep in mind: there will be little ones running around, if the location is at a park you want to make sure you wear the right shoes (no stilettos since they will dig in the grass) and you really do not want to wear your expensive dress simply to sit on a wooden bench that can damage your dress.

I had a couple of options but the winner was a cute polka-dot red and cream colored knee length dress.  I have to say at first I wasn’t too convinced with the color scheme but in the end I was very happy with the way I wore the dress.  I added a handmade gold chain link bracelet and a set of red and white polka dot bracelets.  To make the look a little more “vintage” I wore some low heel mary jane styled shoe.  I was able to move around comfortably (sit, stand, chase after my 3 year old nephew) with no problems.  Remember you can still look cute without sacrificing comfort.  All in all I has a blast with the ones I love and I’m grateful I was able to partake in my nephews bday celebration of life.

polka dotspolkabows

*Dress from Ross http://www.rossstores.com

*Shoes from Aldo http://www.aldoshoes.com

*Jewelry (handmade chain bracelet & polka-dot set)from Queen B Accessories available at fb.com/queenbxssories (mssg me for info)

Leave a comment